Dead Space: Extraction – Swift Kick to the Crotch

July 31, 2009

can't make fun of this

can't make fun of a title this cool

I loved the original Dead Space. I bought all of the comics, preordered the game so I could get the art book, and beat the entire game in two days. It was my game of the year 2008 and was better than even Resident Evil 5 in my mind. Imagine my excitement to get some hands on time with the Wii prequel, Dead Space: Extraction.

That excitement didn’t last long however as Extraction quickly and repeatedly kicked me in the crotch. The demo starts off with you opening a door. On the other side of the door is a room covered in the Necromorph organic creep and five or six necromorphs quickly show up to kick my ass. The gun I had (not even sure what it was) only had five shots in it and did not reload fast enough. I quickly died twice. Demonstrating the game’s pop-in multiplayer, Fred jumped on to help me. We barely made it through the first fight to be quickly and handily dispatched in the next encounter. Then when we loaded up again we died in the first fight. =(

Extraction doesn’t seem like a bad game, someone just picked a bad place to start the demo. We had no time to familiarize ourselves with the controls and were immediately thrown to the wolves. The hungry undead space zombie wolves with spikes for hands. The game looks good and controls well from the ten minutes we had with it. I didn’t have too much trouble targeting limbs and ‘strategically dismembering’ them. I’m looking forward to playing through the entire game when it is released this fall.

You won't see this scene in Extraction

You won't see this scene in Extraction

Leave a Reply

