Persona 4 – Social links ahoy!

July 17, 2009

My bro!

My bro!

After last night’s session with Persona 4, I am about 7 and a half hours into the game and it keeps getting better. I now have free reign to go around and do what I want, which translates into how I’m going to spend my time after school and what I do before bed.

After school I have several options: I can explore the dungeon inside the TV world, hang out with my friends, or if it’s Tuesday, Thursday, or Saturday, practice with the soccer team.

Going inside the dungeon is always a fun test in endurance that reminds me a little bit of Etrian Odyssey. Both games have you exploring a multileveled dungeon with progressively harder enemies on each floor. Both games force you to decide how far you should go before turning around. Try to do too much and you’ll likely die. You need to know when it’s time to fight and when it’s time to leave. This brings me to the one little complaint I have with the game. The enemies are visible on the exploration screen and to initiate battle you need to hit them with your sword, or they can attack you. To get an advantage in battle you need to attack them from behind, so this usually involves me standing around for a minute or two while I wait for these things to turn around.

Hanging out with my friends or practicing with the soccer team both go hand in hand, in that they both involve me leveling up my social links. Social links represent the bonds of friendship I share with people and leveling them up strengthens my personas, demons that assist me in battle. I look forward to going to soccer practice and hanging out with Kou and Daisuke. They’re fun and interesting. On the way home from practice one day we stopped at a restaurant and had some ramen. =D

Other than side characters, I can also hang out with main characters, like my bro Yosuke. We went and got some steaks from this great little stand in the shopping district. Little chewy, but still pretty good. Even if some jerks were gossiping about how Yosuke’s parents are ruining Inaba by bringing Junes, the chain super store, into their town. Hey, I’m from the big city, I love hangin out at the Junes food court. Don’t let the haters get you down.

I freakin love Junes

I freakin love Junes

Before I go to bed there are at least two things I can do. First off, I can study to increase my knowledge. This is all I’ve done so far since no other option has been open to me. However, I bought a book at the book store after school and the next time I jump into Persona 4, I’m reading it before bed. It better be good because it cost me 1200 yen.

Persona 4 has its hooks in me. They created a living, breathing world with intersting characters that I actually care about. Don’t get me wrong, the RPG gameplay is fun, but man I want to hang out with Daisuke and Kou some more. Them some cool guys.

Just some cool guys and some noodles

Just a couple of cool guys and some noodles

Leave a Reply

